Our struggles to aid others

A word I am very familiar with, sympathy.

Seems like it’s been a big part of my childhood, even unto being an adult. And on a day like today, that marks the anniversary of such a tragedy as the twin towers, sympathy seems like an appropriate word post.

As a child I attended no less than 20 funerals. My grandmother attended the funerals of family, friends and church members. Not only that, but my family is one of those that takes pictures of dead people in their caskets. I’ve seen my dad in his casket, an uncle, my grandfathers dad… all laying in a state that should not be remembered in my book.

Heartache equals sympathy

But not only that, my family has seen more than it’s share of struggle. As far back as I can remember and even before I was born. Death by car wrecks, and every form of cancer. Unexpected deaths and long drawn out. Deaths that could have been survived had it occurred a few years later.

The grandparents suffered through the depression, my grandmother and mom (as a baby) was burned in a house fire, a farm accident laid my grandfather up for nearly a week. A car fell on him when he was in his 70’s. The hood of a truck shut and latched on his wrist when he was in his 90’s.

The more I write the more they come flooding out

There are to many and to personal to write. And it’s no different from any other family, I’m sure. Divorce seems to be common these days, but there is still sympathies amongst the children and scorned spouses. It’s a loss anyway you look at it.

Getting to the other side of the trial is character building. My grandfather always said the harder the circumstance the more resilient against the struggles, not in those words but close. It’s true non the less. We carry the scars, the knowledge, the strength of having made it. We’ve learned how not to repeat it and, if out of our control, to survive it. But the most important is, we’re able to help others through it.

I count it all joy

It seems crazy I know, and it certainly is no fun experiencing the hardships that fate throws at us. But from where I sit, it does have some positive affects. Other than being able to support others, it’s also an opportunity to deepen my faith. Leaning heavily on the father and walking closely with the son takes the worry factor out of the equation.

There’s still the fear of the unknown, but the confidence that there is a divine power in control, that knows what’s best beyond my understanding, and never leaves my side is comforting.

Yes, we can reach the other side of our struggles without the support of our father but we’re not as strengthened. Without the divine intervention there will be deep scars of hate, regret, un-forgiveness. There will be susceptibility to repeat the same trial over and over again. The time spent in the trial will take twice as long without supernatural support.

The real sympathy

I guess you could say that it is with deep sympathy a person would have to endure such struggles without the knowledge and protection from the father and son. My heart aches for those who resist and struggle against their creator. The path is always darker for them. I am happy to be a light, a bridge to the other side of the struggle.

Happy Monday everyone!😊

 

2 thoughts on “Our struggles to aid others”

Leave a Reply

